The Houston Vegetarian: Issue #1

To My Fellow Houstonians,

My name is Brandt DeLany, “The Houston Vegetarian”, and I have been a Houstonian for nearly 40 years.

Brandt DeLany: The Houston Vegetarian

Brandt DeLany: The Houston Vegetarian

Veggie Garden

Salad Garden

This site is dedicated to those who are vegetarians, vegans, and vedics, or are others who are thinking about becoming vegetarian, or are maybe just interested in a healthier lifestyle, or interested in adding new flair, interest, and cuisine to your current dining palate. We will showcase vegetarian lifestyle, eating, recipes, dining out, cookbooks, shopping, clubs, organizations, online products, websites, apps and more.

Before I became vegetarian the first thing I thought about every time someone said vegetarian was SALAD. Well salad is good but there is a lot more to eating vegetarian than just salad. If you thing vegetarian is boring you are my favorite customer because it is my destiny to make you green with envy!

The reason I started with the Eggplant is because I hate eggplant…or thought I did. Everyone used to tell me that just hadn’t had it fixed right and every recipe under the sun people made me stuff down my face made me want to run for the border but actually after only 49 years on this planet someone (Shade in the Heights) finally made an eggplant recipe that I really liked. Here were a few other vegetarian favorites that were big hits at the Houston Zen Center Mountain Seat Ceremony on April 7th.

Eggplant_Involitini

Eggplant Involitini: Houston Zen Center April 7. 2012

Asparagus, Mushrooms, and Sesame Oil

Asparagus, Mushrooms, and Sesame Oil

So maybe along the photo journey you will have some commens, questions, or suggestions and I will be your tour guide to explore the big vegetarian jungle of Houston with you.

Crostini with goat cheese and fig jam

Crostini with goat cheese and fig jam

Welcome Everyone.